City of Lost Souls (Book 5) by Cassandra Clare

COLS_cover

The demon Lilith has been destroyed and Jace has been freed from her captivity. But when the Shadowhunters arrive to rescue him, they find only blood and broken glass. Not only is the boy Clary loves missing–but so is the boy she hates, Sebastian, the son of her father Valentine: a son determined to succeed where their father failed, and bring the Shadowhunters to their knees.
No magic the Clave can summon can locate either boy, but Jace cannot stay away—not from Clary. When they meet again Clary discovers the horror Lilith’s dying magic has wrought—Jace is no longer the boy she loved. He and Sebastian are now bound to each other, and Jace has become what he most feared: a true servant of Valentine’s evil. The Clave is determined to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. Will the Shadowhunters hesitate to kill one of their own?
Only a small band of Clary and Jace’s friends and family believe that Jace can still be saved — and that the fate of the Shadowhunters’ future may hinge on that salvation. They must defy the Clave and strike out on their own. Alec, Magnus, Simon and Isabelle must work together to save Jace: bargaining with the sinister Faerie Queen, contemplating deals with demons, and turning at last to the Iron Sisters, the reclusive and merciless weapons makers for the Shadowhunters, who tell them that no weapon on this earth can sever the bond between Sebastian and Jace. Their only chance of cutting Jace free is to challenge Heaven and Hell — a risk that could claim any, or all, of their lives.
And they must do it without Clary. For Clary has gone into the heart of darkness, to play a dangerous game utterly alone. The price of losing the game is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she even still trust him? Or is he truly lost? What price is too high to pay, even for love? Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.

SPOILERS ALERT


Review:

Sebastian Morgenstern has onced again showed his viciousness to the Shadowhunter wold with the help of her demon mother, Lilith. He is no ordinary Shadowhunter. He is part demon from what we have learned from City of Glass. I find this novel very interesting and at the same time, I miss Jace’s POV. He was captured by the evil Sebastian and they are bound together. Kill the other and the other one will be destroyed. No magic could separate them.

It’s been months since I’ve last read City of Fallen Angels. I finally got the physical copy of CoLS because of MIBF. The ending of City of Fallen Angels killed me that’s why I want to read this book so badly. I want to know what happened to Jace and Sebastian. Cassandra Clare never fails to amaze me. She made me cry again after Clockwork Princess. I’m longing to read more of the Shadowhunter world. The beginning of the story, we find that Clary is depressed because of Jace’s disappearace. The Clave are working to find him as well as Sebastian. We found out that Clary’s stubbornness got in the way. She, with the help of Simon, Isabelle, Alec and Magnus decided to ask the Seelie Queen for help. We all know what happened in the City of Ashes when they visited the Seelie Queen right? She made Clary kiss Jace and well since then we got a bad feeling for the Seelie Queen. She’s persuasive and cunning. You never know how expertly she plays with the Shadowhunters. One day, Clary saw Jace and Sebastian talking to each other in the library but Jace is healthy. He’s the same Jace she knew but it’s kinda weird that he’s taking to Sebastian. They look like brothers. I won’t tell you more about it because I might spoil you. The plot goes on when Clary followed Jace and Sebastian as they toured around Europe with a little bit of demon fighting.

This is probably my second favorite next to City of Glass. Sebastian Morgenstern remind me of Valentine. I, sometimes believe by the things he said in this book which makes me feel bad for him. This basically focuses on Sebastian. We got to see more about Malec and Sizzy. I love how Clare creates her swoon worthy characters. I love to see how all the characters of TMI and TID fits together perfectly to create this beautiful masterpiece. There is so much emotion through out this book. It’s definitely a fun roller coaster ride. There is so much feels whenever Brother Zachariah is mentioned here. I miss Jem, Will and Tessa. Hundreds of years has passed and Jem still loves and misses his friends. This line broke my heart. I want more JEM!!

Two people, said Brother Zachariah. There are memories that time does not erase, Clarissa. Ask your friend Magnus Bane, if you do not believe me. Forever does not make loss forgetable, only bearable. 

I want to read City of Heavenly Fire right now! I can’t wait to see how this series will end. I definitely recommend reading this if you love City of Bones. I just can’t move on with the feels. I don’t want this series to end. I will miss Clace. I gave this a perfect 5 out 5 stars on goodreads.

star-iconstar-iconstar-iconstar-iconstar-icon

4 thoughts on “City of Lost Souls (Book 5) by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

