How I become a Bibliophile

“Books are the ultimate Dumpees: put them down and they’ll wait for you forever; pay attention to them and they always love you back.”

John Green, An Abundance of Katherines

I grew up loving fairy tales and happily ever after from the books my mother read to me every night. I can still remember her reading out loud the stories of Rapunzel, Jack and the Beanstalk, Princess and the Pea and Little Red Ridding Hood. As I grew up, I watched her reading novels like Harry Potter and Judith McNaught. She brings me to bookstores and buys me those collections of fairy tales which I still have until now. She is in fact a Harry Potter fan and bookworm. I inherited my love for books from her. It was because of her that I was encourage to buy, read and collect books.

During my elementary years, I wasn’t the kind of kid who loves to play during our recess and lunch break. I usually stay up in the library or talk to my friends. I borrowed some Lizzy McGuire during 4th grade but I never got to finish it. I got bored reading it because there were no pictures in it. I just feel relaxed whenever I go to the library. My friends also love hanging out in the library.  During my 5th grade, we were assigned to read The Little Prince or Tuesdays with Morrie and make a book review. I decided to read Little Prince because it has pictures. It was really hard for me to get into it. I wasn’t a hardcore reader back then but I still managed to finish my review about it. During 6th grade, I was introduced to C.S Lewis, the author of Chronicles of Narnia. My mom bought me the one with pictures and I really love the series and read it on ebook. I even listened to the audiobook. I was really a big fan of it back then. It was the book that really got me into reading. Until then, I decided to read Percy Jackson series. The movie was just released back then and hype is all over the internet. It was because of Goodreads that I learned more about it. I read it first on ebook and to my surprise, I liked it. I decided to buy the rest of the series. It was during my first year in Highschool that I decided to read the Harry Potter series and read other genres like Young Adult and Classic. It was the book that really encouraged me to grow as a reader. It inspired me in so many different ways. I could totally relate to Harry Potter. I couldn’t imagine that I have marathon the whole series, listen to the Audiobooks and watched the film. I even dreamed of Harry, Ron and Hermione. Harry Potter will always have a special place in my heart.

It was last year when I first started bookstagram (@bookishwanderlust). I was really happy to see accounts solely dedicated for their passion in reading and decided to create one. I was able to meet new friends locally and internationally. I even met some of then during the book signing events that I have attended. I was able to meet authors like Colleen Hoover, Tarryn FIsher, Christine Brae, and Kiera Cass. I spend most of my time now reading and reviewing books. I spend my money buying books when I’m happy and just want to treat myself. I’m happy that my collection have grown over the past years especially this year.

This is the story on how I came to love reading and collecting. I feel proud that I have this kind of hobby because booknerd are awesome right? I just hope that everyone will just read books instead of spending all the day on the internet. Books is man’s best friend. Even though you put them down and just put then on your shelf for years, it will never leave you. It will always have that magical feeling whenever we open and read books. It  could make you feel pain, nostalgia and happiness. Who doesn’t love to devour and the smell of books? Right?

Leave a Reply

