Finding Hope by Colleen Nelson

25365508

Hope leaves her small town for a fresh start, but her plans are derailed by an online romance and the appearance of her brother.

Hope lives in a small town with nothing to do and nowhere to go. With a drug addict for a brother, she focuses on the only thing that keeps her sane, writing poetry. To escape, she jumps at the chance to attend Ravenhurst Academy as a boarding student. She’ll even put up with the clique-ish Ravens if it means making a fresh start.

At first, Ravenhurst is better than Hope could have dreamed. She has a boyfriend and a cool roommate, and she might finally have found a place she can fit in. But can she trust her online boyfriend? And what can she do after her brother shows up at the school gates, desperate for help, and the Ravens turn on her? Trapped and unsure, Hope realizes that if she wants to save her brother, she has to save herself first.

 

Thank you Netgalley for the chance to read this ARC. This is my very first review on Netgalley.

The first time I laid my eyes on this minimalist yet stunning cover, I was already attracted and curious on how the story will go. Then I read the summary and I’m really anticipating to read it. I saw a lot of good reviews on Goodreads. Through reading the synopsis, I thought that this is about a teenage girl who finds escape through poetry. I haven’t read any Colleen Nelson book and I wasn’t familiar with the author. I’m really excited when Netgalley accepted my request to review this ARC.

Finding Hope deals with a lot of teenage issues such as drug addiction, cyberbullying, and abuse. It is written in a dual POV of Hope and Eric. Hope is the main character in the story. She transferred to a boarding school, Ravenhurst to start of with her new life because basically her whole life is a mess. Eric, her half-brother is a meth addict. The story unravels on how Hope, through poetry will be able to surpass all of life’s cruel choices.

The story and the introduction of the characters started on just fine. I was really enjoying the first part of the story. I love that the chapters are so short. The plot is a bit cliche and fast paced. I tried to finish it and see how it will end but I lost interest in it at 20 %. I was just skimming through it because I don’t know where will the story go. I couldn’t connect to all of the characters. I want more details about Hope and the story but the story just goes really really fast. I even finish this in one sittting. The characters annoys me. The main protagonist, Hope is so immature, whiny, stupid and bitch. I couldn’t stand all her dramas and decision in life. She befriended those bitches in order to fit in and in the end she regretted it. I was thinking of Mean Girls. Those bullies in school where they pick on new students and ask them to do stupid things on a Truth or Dare. Who does that? It’s so cliche right? I was cringing when they asked Cassie to strip naked and walk three times in front of Mrs. Harrison’s door. I couldn’t see the character development in it. The worst and annoying part is when Hope send nude pictures to her online boyfriend. Gosh! She didn’t even met the guy and know if he is trustworthy. So unbelievable!

I couldn’t finish this book. Sorry. Maybe this book is not for me. I can’t recommend it to anyone. I gave it a 1 out 5 stars on Goodreads. It’s probably the worst book I’ve read this year. Sorry

This will be published on March 19, 2016

star-icon

 

4 thoughts on “Finding Hope by Colleen Nelson

Leave a Reply

