It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

it-ends-with-us-9781501110368_hr

Sometimes it is the one who loves you who hurts you the most.

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. Combining a captivating romance with a cast of all-too-human characters, It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

 

“Maybe love isn’t something that comes full circle. It just ebbs and flows, in and out, just like the people in our lives.”

It Ends With Us is a poignant, raw, inspiring, heart-wrenching, captivating and truly an eye opener book which talks about feminism, empowerment and how to stand up for yourself and making the best decision despite the circumstances that hinders. I have been a fan of Colleen Hoover since I have read Confess last year. Since then, I’ve become addicted to her writing style. I read November 9 in one sitting and it left me broken. I even went to her book signing last year in Manila, Philippines.

It Ends With Us is not the usual boy meets girl romance. It’s not even those sappy light heart read. Instead a powerful book that delivers a lot of message especially to us women. I read this yesterday that’s why the feeling is still raw. I didn’t read the synopsis about this and just dive straight into the book after it was released. My friends and I have been waiting for the release date since the day it was announced. I trusted Colleen Hoover’s writing style. There is no doubt that it’ll be wonderful. I’ve read it for only hours and my eyes were swollen from crying. IT.LEFT.ME.IN.PIECES Colleen writes unique stories but it mostly centers on unrequited, unconditional love and swoon worthy male lead but It Ends With Us talks about issues that has been happening all around us. It’s a much deeper level of New Adult genre. This opened my eyes to the issues discussed in the novel. There were part where in I’ll put it down to stare at the ceiling to think and cry. I couldn’t put the book down. I even highlighted and bookmarked my favorite lines and quotes from the book.

“I think about how sometimes, no matter how convinced you are that your life will turn out a certain way, all that certainty can be washed away with a simple change in tide.”

The cover doesn’t clearly portray how deep the book is. At first glance, I wouldn’t know that it’s a powerful New Adult book. The purple, pink and white color looks like it’s a light-hearted contemporary. Don’t get me wrong. I fell in love with the cover because of the flowers which suits Lily Bloom’s flower shop but it has a hidden meaning. I have some realizations while reading the book. Maybe that’s why the flowers are scattered on the cover because it depicts Lily as a human. Her life gets messed up and torn. She grew up in a very different household. The “It Ends With Us” on the cover is written in uppercase and bold font because Lily has been BRAVE AND BOLD. Others will just be bitter and wither but in her case, she flourished. She’s been through tough times but in the end she blooms into the most rare and beautiful flower.

“Be that girl, Lily. Brave and bold.”

It’s been an emotional roller coaster ride. I would be forever grateful to Colleen for writing such an inspiring book. I joined her It Ends With Us discussion group in Facebook. I’ve read posts which talks about their personal life experiences. It makes me want to cry all over again. I brought a lot of meaning to my life. I did not experience it but it  made me appreciate how lucky I am to have this life.

“Just because someone hurts you doesn’t mean you can simply stop loving them. It’s not a person’s actions that hurt the most. It’s the love. If there was no love attached to the action, the pain would be a little easier to bear.”

I highly recommend it not only for teenagers like me but for adults to. Be prepared for a lot of dramas, heart wrenching scenes and lessons you’ll learn along the way. Enjoy!

BEWARE SPOILERS BELOW

I fell in love with Ryle although it was kind of insta love and purely lust at first. Who wouldn’t fall in love with a swoon worthy neurosurgeon right? Their family is wealthy but maybe because of his job as a doctor that he didn’t have a time to fall in love. Then Lily walks into his life and everything changes.

I though Fallon from November 9 will be my forever favorite character of Colleen but Lily tops it all. I honestly hated Lily Bloom at first because her love for Ryle was insta-love.  Thank God I haven’t experience (and hopefully not ) the experience of Lily in the hands of someone she loves but she stood up for herself and that’s what I admire the most.

The moment when Ryle slapped and pushed Lily for the first time had me thinking that maybe he didn’t mean it. I made excuses. I thought it was because he’s just jealous and angry but the second time is different. I love Ryle but I don’t like what he’s capable of. I thought there were some psychological explanations for it but I was wrong. I pity Ryle but I pity Lily the most. She suffered in the hands of the one I least expected to hurt her. She grew up in an abusive household that’s why she has a trauma.

Atlas shows up in the restaurant he owns. I cried really hard while reading Lily’s diary. I fell in love with Atlas and hoping she’ll end up with him. He’s really caring and took Lily after Ryle abused her. He’s the perfect main character.

Things got worse when Lily knew she’s pregnant. She couldn’t talk to Alyssa and her mom about it. I don’t know what to do if I’m in the same situation as her. I admire her strength and her ability to make wise decisions for her and her baby Emmy. She did the right thing of divorcing that asshole Ryle and opening her heart to Atlas again.

Ratings plus final thoughts

The message is pretty clear at the ending.  We shouldn’t be swayed from making the best decisions because of love. There is some point in our lives wherein we feel like giving up but it’s not the end. It’s only the beginning to a much more opportunities in our life. Our strengths is tested when we are in a situation where there’s no turning back. The only thing we need to do is trust ourselves.

Our mom is the only one who can help us through tough times. We should appreciate our moms and give her a hug for bringing us to this world. There’s nothing I could be thankful but having a great parents who raised me up and for making me who I am today.

It stops here.
With me and you.
It ends with us. 

Giving this a 5+++++ ratings. One of the best books in 2016!

star-iconstar-iconstar-iconstar-iconstar-icon

Leave a Reply

