Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431.jpg

 

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

 

“Everyone thinks they’re special,” he says. “Everyone’s a snowflake, right? We’re all unique and complicated. We can never know the human heart, and all that? I think that’s nonsense. We’re not snowflakes. We’re just outputs for a set of inputs”

Everything Everything is a very lighthearted, fast-paced and a coming of age story. This is a debut novel of Nicola Yoon. This is a Young Adult novel which talks about mental illness and falling in love for the first time. This is a first person point of view from Madeline who has a rare kind of disease. She doesn’t go out of her house and never seen any people except for her Mom and Nurse Carla for years. Olly comes to their neighborhood and she experienced falling in love and heartbreak for the very first time.

The reason why I chose to read this is because of the beautiful illustrations on the cover. The synopsis caught my attention  because it reminds me of a Korean Drama, Flower Boy Next Door. I have seen this on Bookstagram and my friend mentioned this to me and loved it. It is a quick, one sitting book that includes journal entries, emails, illustrations etc. If you’re a fan of Stephanie Perkins, Jenny Han and Rainbow Rowell, you will definitely love this.

Nicola Yoon did a very great job at writing the feeling of falling in love and heartbreak for the first time. The hype didn’t disappoint me. I read this for 6 hours straight and enjoyed it. It’s a fun light-hearted perfect for a summer read. You know that the writing is great if it tugs at your heartstrings. It left me broken and happy and wanting more Nicola Yoon book!

Overall, I enjoyed this book. This is one I’ve been looking for after reading a lot of heavy dramas and Fantasy novels. If you’re waiting for a train , airport, bus or just want to spend your time reading contemporary, then this is perfect for you. I highly recommend this for teenagers and adults. I couldn’t wait to read more Nicola Yoon.

star-iconstar-iconstar-iconstar-iconstar-icon

4 thoughts on “Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. OMG, flower boy next door with Park Shin Hye? I remember watching that, and although half the time I was annoyed by her, I loved the drama 🙂 If this book is similar to the drama, I’ll have to read it. Great review!
    I found your blog through twitter, and can’t wait to see all your future posts 🙂
    Grace from kimmiegg.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

