Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven

28686840

“We’re all weird and damaged in our own way. You’re not the only one.”

Holding Up The Universe is the second young adult book written by Jennifer Niven. It’s raw, poignant, inspiring, and well-paced YA contemporary that talks mainly of finding yourself, mental illness . I’ve been seeing this for awhile on Goodreads and Bookstagram. I have a high expectation for this one because I enjoyed reading All The Bright Places. To be honest this lived up to the hype. It’s a light-hearted read compared to the depressing All The Bright Places.

“Life is too short to judge others. It is not our job to tell someone what they feel or who they are. Why not spend some time judging yourself? I don’t know you, but I can guarantee you have some issues you can work on. And maybe you’ve got a fit body and a perfect face, but I’ll wager you have insecurities too…”

Libby Strout is known as “America’s Fattest Teen”. Even though she’d been bullied for how she weigh, it didn’t stop her to feel confident about herself. Jack Masselin is suffering from prosopagnosia a rare kind of disease or sometimes called face blindness. He cannot recognize his family, friends even his own self. He has no friends and doesn’t want to get close to anyone. Until he met Libby Strout and everything changed. The story opens up to all bullies and being bullied about how they look and basically about mental health issues.

Even though I’ve never experienced what Libby had been through, I can still relate to her character. She’s inspiring and her character development is too strong. Through Jennifer Niven’s powerful writing style, the story is so real and believable. I’ve heard a mental illness of prosopagnosia from a Kdrama: Girl Who Sees Smell but the character in it is the antagonist. I was hooked when I’ve read the synopsis and knowing it’s about a fat girl  being bullied and falling in love with a guy suffering from prosopagnosia. This was recommended by my friends and I’ve been seeing this on Goodreads and Bookstagram.

Overall, I find the story is quite boring, slow paced at the beginning and lacking sometimes . This lived up to my expectations and to the hype. I recommend reading this to all readers who love reading YA contemporary.

star-iconstar-iconstar-iconstar-icon

avatar bookishwanderlt

Leave a Reply

